Jump to content


Photo

Offical CM10.2 Builds Available Now!

Started by creccaj ,

  • Sign In To Reply:  

creccaj #1

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 4:29 AM

If official CM is your thing then you are in luck.  CM 10.2 is now official and you can downloaded them for a select group of devices:

 

https://plus.google....sts/gXKMqJAFiMc

 

For your direct link to the nighlies... here you go ;) http://get.cm/?type=nightly


  • Cory Streater and N3xs like this

tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


Lee Bo #2

Lee Bo
  • Android Addict
  • Offline
  • 242 posts
  • Location: Greenville, SC
  • Device: Currently rocking the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 6:04 AM

I'm glued to the site awaiting a stable release for the VZW Note II.  As soon as it's released I'm going to be all over it.


________________________________

Twitter: @Android_Lee


creccaj #3

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 6:15 AM

I would hold off.  Users are reporting some issues with the initial build.  


tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


dmmarck #4

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 7:23 AM

Will make a backup and flash anyway.  #YOLO


  • N3xs likes this

tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


dmmarck #5

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 7:23 AM

Also, unless you were on CM10.2 before, ALWAYS CLEAN FLASH :).


  • creccaj and N3xs like this

tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


N3xs #6

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 7:45 AM

ALWAYS CLEAN FLASH
 Yes, indeed, ALWAYS WIPE EVERYTHING!!!!

 

o5am5.jpg

 

I woke up, well let me rephrase that, I got out of bed and was eating my cereal when @creccaj, was kind enough to let me know of the new CM 10.2 nightly I was waiting for ... being half asleep I did everything wrong:

 

I did not make a Nandroid, and I did not wipe anything... I simply went straight to my CM updater in settings, downloaded the 10.2 nightly, and hit "update" when I got the pop up...

 

It booted fine but everything after was not fine at all as you can already imagine. WiFi and 4G/3G all grayed out, would not connect to the google servers nor the internet... I tried to reboot the first time and it did not work... I kept getting a pop-up saying that AOSP keyboard was not responding or something like that; I could not type anything since the keyboard kept force closing so I could not sign into my google account and then go to the play store and download the apps I need starting with Swiftkey...

 

So yeah, always clean wipe and make a nandroid! 

 

Cheers!


  • Cory Streater, dmmarck and Jessesmith888 like this

dmmarck #7

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 7:50 AM

Works for me :).


tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


Ahowe125 #8

Ahowe125
  • Nerd of everything Tech
  • Offline
  • 260 posts
  • Location: Grand Rapids MI
  • Device: VZW HTC One

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 8:26 AM

Nice, I might have to try that out on my Razr after a few nightly builds come out and initial bugs are found and fixed. Should be sweet to get 4.3 on the old Razr. 


| 32GB Verizon HTC One - S-Off, Unlocked and Rooted on NuSenseOne-Kitkat RC-1.4 |
| 16GB Nexus 7 (2013) - Unlocked and Rooted on Stock 4.4.2 |
| Jet Black Pebble Smart Watch (Red Slickwrap) - Official SDK 2.0.2 |

N3xs #9

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 8:44 AM

Ok, I clean wiped and flashed CM 10.2 nightly, along with gapps core 4.3,  photosphere addon, and emoji keyboard addon... It booted fine, and it is now restoring all my apps, slowly but surely...

 

I will report back if I find any bugs ;) 

 

BTW, I find that my apps restore much faster when I enable "stay awake" under developer options and leave it on the charger... I am not sure why but it really does! 


  • Cory Streater, dmmarck and Ahowe125 like this

dmmarck #10

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 9:59 AM

Ok, I clean wiped and flashed CM 10.2 nightly, along with gapps core 4.3, photosphere addon, and emoji keyboard addon... It booted fine, and it is now restoring all my apps, slowly but surely...

I will report back if I find any bugs ;)

BTW, I find that my apps restore much faster when I enable "stay awake" under developer options and leave it on the charger... I am not sure why but it really does!


I assume you got the GAPPs from goo.im, right?

Sent from my M7 running CM10.2


tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


N3xs #11

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 10:42 AM

I assume you got the GAPPs from goo.im, right?
correctomundo! 

 

http://goo.im/devs/BaNkS/GApps%204.3 



Ahowe125 #12

Ahowe125
  • Nerd of everything Tech
  • Offline
  • 260 posts
  • Location: Grand Rapids MI
  • Device: VZW HTC One

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 11:13 AM

 

I assume you got the GAPPs from goo.im, right?
correctomundo! 

 

http://goo.im/devs/BaNkS/GApps%204.3

 

 

Wait, so you didn't flash the Gapps from this page?

 

http://goo.im/gapps


| 32GB Verizon HTC One - S-Off, Unlocked and Rooted on NuSenseOne-Kitkat RC-1.4 |
| 16GB Nexus 7 (2013) - Unlocked and Rooted on Stock 4.4.2 |
| Jet Black Pebble Smart Watch (Red Slickwrap) - Official SDK 2.0.2 |

Ahowe125 #13

Ahowe125
  • Nerd of everything Tech
  • Offline
  • 260 posts
  • Location: Grand Rapids MI
  • Device: VZW HTC One

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 11:19 AM

Or are they the same thing just in a different location?

Sent from my Droid Razr Maxx on Eclipse v2.2 using Tapatalk 4


| 32GB Verizon HTC One - S-Off, Unlocked and Rooted on NuSenseOne-Kitkat RC-1.4 |
| 16GB Nexus 7 (2013) - Unlocked and Rooted on Stock 4.4.2 |
| Jet Black Pebble Smart Watch (Red Slickwrap) - Official SDK 2.0.2 |

N3xs #14

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 11:28 AM

Wait, so you didn't flash the Gapps from this page?
nope! But I see that they have finally been updated; it was about time! 

 

The ones I downloaded come in a very minimal package and that's why i had to download 2 other files on the side: emoji and photosphere...

 

Any of those two should be just fine, but I like the more minimal ones seeing that most google apps are being released in the store anyways.. 


  • Ahowe125 likes this

creccaj #15

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 12:04 PM

Banks Gapps have been the "go-to" package over on XDA for 4.3 ROMs since they first started coming producing 4.3 based ROMs.  I will continue to use them until I feel that something is better. 


  • N3xs likes this

tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


Ahowe125 #16

Ahowe125
  • Nerd of everything Tech
  • Offline
  • 260 posts
  • Location: Grand Rapids MI
  • Device: VZW HTC One

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 12:08 PM

Well I got both downloaded to my phone, just gotta make a new slot and flash away. I figured I would try on the Razr first since its still 4.1.2. 


| 32GB Verizon HTC One - S-Off, Unlocked and Rooted on NuSenseOne-Kitkat RC-1.4 |
| 16GB Nexus 7 (2013) - Unlocked and Rooted on Stock 4.4.2 |
| Jet Black Pebble Smart Watch (Red Slickwrap) - Official SDK 2.0.2 |

creccaj #17

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 12:09 PM

Don't feel bad, the HTC One is still 4.1.2 in the US.  No date to when 4.2.2 is coming, probably by then Nexii will have 4.3.1 :).


tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


N3xs #18

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 12:31 PM

I have been reconfiguring my phone and signing into all my accounts... 

 

Everything seems to be working just fine except for the app that came with CM10.2 called Focal, which is their new camera.

 

Here are some screen shots to illustrate:

 

Screenshot_2013-08-14-14-11-00.png

 

Screenshot_2013-08-14-14-14-09.png

 

So, besides the focal app which is still considered to be an Alpha product, everything is just dandy ! =)

 

I am also enjoying the new ActiveNotifications app only available to Amoled phones running 4.3:

 

Screenshot_2013-08-14-16-23-37.png

 

It is actually pretty damn awesome! 



dmmarck #19

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 5:54 PM

Banks Gapps have been the "go-to" package over on XDA for 4.3 ROMs since they first started coming producing 4.3 based ROMs. I will continue to use them until I feel that something is better.


They're all the same shit to most degrees, so there's nothing to worry about except ensuring Play Store versions are up to date.

For CM stuff I only flash the "official" Gapps because of superstition.

Sent from my M7 running CM10.2


tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


Ahowe125 #20

Ahowe125
  • Nerd of everything Tech
  • Offline
  • 260 posts
  • Location: Grand Rapids MI
  • Device: VZW HTC One

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 6:20 PM

I ended up flashing it and the official gapps, and everything when fine. I didn't have enough time to really set it up, so I went back to my normal eclipse ROM. Only thing that was funky was the camera. Because my internal storage is so low, I could not even take pictures and the focal app was not working on my camera. I may play around with it some more of just wait for my Dev to update my blur ROM to 4.3.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4
| 32GB Verizon HTC One - S-Off, Unlocked and Rooted on NuSenseOne-Kitkat RC-1.4 |
| 16GB Nexus 7 (2013) - Unlocked and Rooted on Stock 4.4.2 |
| Jet Black Pebble Smart Watch (Red Slickwrap) - Official SDK 2.0.2 |

Cyber Warrior #21

Cyber Warrior
  • Robots Will Kill
  • Offline
  • 1500 posts
  • Location: New York
  • Device: GS4 N7

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 6:23 PM

 
I am also enjoying the new ActiveNotifications app only available to Amoled phones running 4.3:
 
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-W79xG...
 
It is actually pretty damn awesome!


How is the active notifications app on battery life not having a dedicated core like the Moto X?

You can grab the voice commands app as well :P who needs a Moto X
OpenMic: https://play.google....om.RSen.OpenMic
  • N3xs and Ahowe125 like this

tacsig513.png

: : C  H  A  N  N  E  L   Y  O  U  R    M  E  D  I  A : :


Cory Streater #22

Cory Streater
  • Your Wish Is My Command
  • Offline
  • 1533 posts
  • Location: Seattle
  • Device: Samsung S6 Edge

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 7:36 PM

@dmmarck, I'm reading through this thread, and looking to see who has what, and I see this all over the place:

2013-08-14_20-33-32.jpg

Are you responsible for this trend?



N3xs #23

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 9:47 PM

I can say that the Play store and Google play services were up to date on Banks Gapps and everything but focal works fine

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4



N3xs #24

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 14 '13 @ 9:49 PM


I am also enjoying the new ActiveNotifications app only available to Amoled phones running 4.3:

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-W79xG...

It is actually pretty damn awesome!

How is the active notifications app on battery life not having a dedicated core like the Moto X?

You can grab the voice commands app as well :P who needs a Moto X
OpenMic: https://play.google....om.RSen.OpenMic
I will report on battery life at the end of the day tomorrow since I didn't really have time to test it yet ;-)

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4



creccaj #25

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 15 '13 @ 4:28 AM

I would be interested to know this as well.  Like the idea of it but considering that I need a PIN unlock due to work server connection might not be able to use this.  


tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


dmmarck #26

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 15 '13 @ 6:38 AM

@dmmarck, I'm reading through this thread, and looking to see who has what, and I see this all over the place:

2013-08-14_20-33-32.jpg

Are you responsible for this trend?


Probably. Build names are a lot easier than full details lol.

Sent from my M7 running CM10.2


  • N3xs likes this

tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


creccaj #27

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 15 '13 @ 6:51 AM

I stole the idea from Dylan :P


  • dmmarck likes this

tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


dmmarck #28

dmmarck
  • Ombudsman of Mountain View
  • Offline
  • 1381 posts
  • Location: Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Device: NEXII

Posted Aug 15 '13 @ 7:19 AM

Just used CMUpdater for the first time ever.  Appears to download the zip and apply it without wiping, sort of like a regular system update.  Also only wipes the caches and not the system (apparently).


  • N3xs likes this

tacsig513.png

UNLEASH THE BEAST: General Nexus 5 Hackery


LG NEXUS 5 - Black 16GB, Android 4.4 KitKat, Unlocked, Rooted, franco.Kernel

ASUS NEXUS 7 (2013) - Black 16GB, Android 4.3 Jelly Bean, Unlocked

 


creccaj #29

creccaj
  • Wait, wut?
  • Offline
  • 421 posts
  • Location: People's Republic of New Jersey
  • Device: Hammerhead | Flo

Posted Aug 15 '13 @ 7:51 AM

Never liked that idea to be honest.  Would much rather go into recovery and do it.  What does it take, an extra minute?


tacsig513.png

Nexus 5 - Stock w/ Franco Test 8 | Nexus 7 2013 - PA 3.99 | Mako (Retired) - Purity ROM

Moderator - Accountant - Android Enthusiast


N3xs #30

N3xs
  • Towel Porter
  • Offline
  • 211 posts
  • Location: Ft Laudy, Florida
  • Device: Toro, Flo, Grouper, Manta

Posted Aug 15 '13 @ 8:18 AM

Never liked that idea to be honest.  Would much rather go into recovery and do it.  What does it take, an extra minute?
 

It is indeed always recommended to do it by rebooting into recovery and wipe your cache/dalvik, and if you want to be extra cautious wipe data and also make a nandroid before all that...

 

However, I can say that I have never had any issues updating to the next available build with cmupdater... it works really well on incremental updates such as going from CM 10.2 081413 to CM10.2 081513 for example ...

 

The only problem I ever had was with a broken nightly... the update went well but the build I updated to was broken and I had no nandroids to restore to...

 

So, in the end, my advice is to ALWAYS MAKE A NANDROID no matter what route you decide to take to your next build ;)